Russian railways

The main railway route of International Transport Corridor No. 9 is Helsinki – Buslovskaya – St. Petersburg – Moscow – Suzemka – Kiev – Lubashevka – Chisinau – Bucharest – Sofia – Alexandroupoli.

In addition to the main axis of the corridor, the following corridor routes run along the territory of the Russian Federation:

  • St. Petersburg – Zaverezhye – Zhlobin;
  • Nezhin – Zhlobin – Minsk – Vilnius – Kaliningrad/Klaipeda.

The Russian sections of the corridor are approximately 1900 km long, all of which are electrified and almost entirely double tracked (except for the St. Petersburg – Zaverezhye branch).

Moreover, based on the need to develop future traffic volumes, the General Scheme for the Development of the Railway Network of JSC Russian Railways for the Period up to 2020 and beyond until 2025 provides for a number of measures to expand the carrying capacity of the infrastructure.