1899 - railway bridge over the river Yenisei opens
At the end of the last century, the builders of the Trans Siberian thought the river Yenisei represented an insurmountable obstacle. Lavr Proskuryakov, a professor at Moscow Technical School, began working to solve the problem. In 1895, he drafted a construction plan for a bridge across the Yenisei. In the same year, Evgeny Knorre, a mechanical engineer, arrived in Krasnoyarsk led the construction of this unique bridge.
Within three years, the new bridge underwent the first performance tests. On 28 March 1899, the first passenger train crossed over the Yenisei River.
In 1900, this structure, along with the Eiffel Tower, was awarded the Grand Prix and Gold Medal at the World Exhibition in Paris "for architectural excellence and superior execution."
UNESCO scientists have ranked the Krasnoyarsk Railway Bridge as the "apex of human engineering." At 145 metres, the spans on the bridge on the Yenisei River were the longest in Russia and the second-longest on the Eurasian continent.
Along with the Kremlin and Peterhof, the bridge is mentioned in the "Wonders of the World Atlas" which was published in the United States in 1991.
Only after 103 years was it decided to dismantle the bridge: the metal structures had served their time.