Russian railways

October Railway

Operating length – 10,378.4 kilometers.

The main line of October Railway passes through Leningrad, Pskov, Novgorod, Vologda, Murmansk, Tver, Moscow and Yaroslavl oblasts, the two cities of Moscow and St. Petersburg and the Republic of Karelia.

The Head Office is located in St. Petersburg. October Railway carries part of the North-South and Europe-Asia International Transport Corridors (ITCs), while the Vyborg – St. Petersburg – Moscow line is a link in the 9th ITC.

The October Railway network extends to the trading ports of St. Petersburg, Murmansk, Vitino, Vyborg, Vysotsk and Primorsk, to Ust-Luga, a new port currently under construction on the Baltic Sea, and to a total of 9 border crossings – 4 on Russia’s border with Finland, 2 on the Estonian border, 2 on the border with Latvia and one on the border with Belarus. The transport sector of Russia’s North-West region is heavily focused on exports and imports.