Vitaly Savelyev

Minister of Transport of the Russian Federation, Member of the Board of Directors

Born 18 January 1954.

In 1977, he graduated from the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering of the Leningrad Polytechnic Institute named after M.I. Kalinin (now the Peter the Great St. Petersburg Polytechnic University) with a degree in Mechanical Engineering of Construction and Road Machinery and Equipment,

In 1986, he graduated from the Leningrad Engineering and Economic Institute named after Palmiro Togliatti (now the St. Petersburg State University of Engineering and Economics).

PhD in Economics.

After graduating from the Institute in 1977, he worked at the Sayano-Shushenskaya Hydroelectric Power Station, where he rose from Service Engineer to the Chief Designer at one of the Krasnoyarskgesstroy [Krasnoyarsk HEP Construction] associations of the USSR’s Ministry of Energy.

In 1984, he returned to Leningrad, where he worked as Chief Technologist, Deputy Manager of the All-Union Trust Sevzapmetallurgmontazh [North-West Metallurgy Assembly] of the USSR’s Ministry for Montazhspetsstroy [the Construction of Special Installations].

From 1987 to 1989, he was Deputy Head of the Main Directorate at Glavleningradinzhstroy [Main Leningrad Engineering Construction] of the Leningrad City Executive Committee, where he was involved in the construction of roads, bridges and tunnels in Leningrad.

From 1989 to 1993, he was President of the JV Dialog-Invest.

From 1993 to 1995, he was Chairman of the Board of the St. Petersburg Joint-Stock Bank Russia.

From 1995 to 2001, he served as Chairman of the Board of the bank MENATEP St. Petersburg.

From 2001 to 2002, he was Deputy Chairman of the Management Board of OAO Gazprom.

From 9 April 2004 to 22 October 2007, he was Deputy Minister of Economic Development and Trade of the Russian Federation.

Between 2007-2009, he was First Vice President at AFK Sistema.

In March 2009, he was elected Managing Director of JSC Aeroflot – Russian Airlines.

On 10 November 2020, he was appointed Minister of Transport of the Russian Federation.