Russian railways
23.04.2021   18:29

Russian Railways introduces simplified travel conditions to Kaliningrad Region

In accordance with agreements with the Republic of Lithuania, travel conditions to the Kaliningrad Region on long-distance trains operated by the Russian Railways’ holding are being simplified.

Citizens of the Russian Federation are now allowed to transit through the territory of the Republic of Lithuania not only with a Simplified Transit Document for Railway Transport (STD-RD), but also on Schengen visas. Citizens of the Republic of Belarus are also now allowed to travel on Schengen visas.

In addition, from 26 April to 15 May, the maximum allowed number of passengers travelling simultaneously to and from Kaliningrad in transit through the Republic of Lithuania on long-distance trains will be increased from 200 to 300.

The Russian Railways’ Holding and Belarusian Railways have also increased the number of stops for boarding and disembarking passengers on the territory of the Republic of Belarus.


Additional stops for boarding / disembarking passengers in the Republic of Belarus

Possible route for a passenger when buying a ticket from/to an additional stop

No. 30/29 Yantar Kaliningrad – Moscow
Molodechno, Smorgon from 21 April 2021
Moscow – Smorgon and Smorgon – Moscow
No. 79/80 Kaliningrad – St. Petersburg
Shumilino, Polotsk, Krulevshizna, Molodechno, Vileyka, Smorgon

from 21 April 2021

Smorgon – St. Petersburg and St. Petersburg – Smorgon
No. 360/359 Kaliningrad – Adler
Smorgon, Molodechno, Smolevichi, Borisov

SmorgonOrsha Adler and AdlerOrshaSmorgon

The anti-epidemic measures of both countries remain in force on long-distance trains running between the Russian Federation and the Republic of Belorussia to ensure safe transportation.

All passengers are strongly encouraged to wear personal protective equipment throughout their journey.

Passengers can purchase tickets, as well as obtain up-to-date information on train timetables and fares, from the official website of Russian Railways and the RZD Passengers mobile app.

Foreign citizens, including citizens of the Russian Federation over 6 years of age, require a medical document confirming the negative result of a PCR test for COVID-19 in order to enter the territory of the Republic of Belarus.

Citizens of member states of the Eurasian Economic Union arriving in the Russian Federation from abroad by rail, including from the Republic of Belarus, are required to submit a certificate that they have been examined for the COVID-19 coronavirus infection with a negative laboratory test by the PCR method which has been issued no later than 3 days prior to their arrival on the territory of the Russian Federation.

Citizens of the Russian Federation returning to the Russian Federation from abroad by rail, including from the Republic of Belarus, must fill out a questionnaire on the Unified Portal of State and Municipal Services (UPSMS) before arriving on the territory of the Russian Federation and upon arrival undergo a laboratory test for COVID-19 by the PCR method within three calendar days and upload the result to the UPSMS. It is imperative to observe the isolation regime at the place of their residence or stay until the results are obtained.